Clothed in Righteousness

Image

“…See, I have taken away your sin and will put fine garments on you” Zechariah 3:4

by Michelle Meeks

“Then he showed me Joshua the high priest standing before the angel of the Lord, and Satan standing at his right side to accuse him.” Zechariah 3:1

Have you ever felt like this?  Satan accusing you.  Sometimes, I hear him whispering in my ear, “You aren’t good enough, you are full of sin, you will never be what God has called you to be.  You, who waivers between belief and unbelief, He doesn’t want you.”  Many times, I can ignore him and replace the lies with God’s truth.  But on this occasion, I let the lies take root. He was right, I was full of sin.  I had lost my temper and uttered a few ugly words.  Music rehearsal hadn’t gone well; maybe God hadn’t called me to sing.  I wasn’t as good as someone else, maybe God will use them instead.  All of these things replayed over and over in my head.

Tears filled my eyes.  I didn’t know what to pray.  I knew my sins and had repented of them, but still, Satan’s accusing voice played in my head.  I asked God to show me in His word what I needed to hear.  He led me to Zechariah 3: 1-4.

The Lord said to Satan, “The Lord rebuke you, Satan! The Lord, who has chosen Jerusalem, rebuke you! Is not this man a burning stick snatched from the fire?”Now Joshua was dressed in filthy clothes as he stood before the angel. The angel said to those who were standing before him, “Take off his filthy clothes.”Then he said to Joshua, “See, I have taken away your sin, and I will put fine garments on you.”

As I read these words, I couldn’t help but think how much He loves me! Right here in His word, He showed me He’s chosen me, He fights for me  and He’s forgiven my sins.  Satan can accuse me all he wants, but God is faithful.  He says if we confess our sin, He will purify us from all unrighteousness. (1 John 1:9) I just needed a reminder.

Do you need a reminder of God’s faithfulness?  Do you need to hear Him say He’s forgiven you?  Stop walking around in filthy garments; take the fine garments He has chosen for you.

Prayer:  Thank you Father for loving us, for choosing us.  Even though we sin, you are faithful to forgive us.  When Satan accuses us, you stand by us and tell him to go away because by your son’s blood we are washed clean of all our filthiness.  Help us to remember your faithfulness.